teaching question #2

Is there a way I can see something different on my laptop screen than what is projected onto the lecture screen? I use “bad” PowerPoint slides with too many words because I don’t have the personal organizational capacity to keep track of lecture notes separately from slides, so my slides double as my notes. If I could project something different than what I’m looking at on the laptop, I’d be set. Windows XP can handle two monitors, is there a way to make that work for this purpose? What I’d really like is to be able to project the slide show on one screen and look at the notes for each slide on the other. Also, is there some other slide show software that would work better like this (assuming I could solve the monitor problem) than PPT?
Author: olderwoman

I'm a sociology professor but not only a sociology professor. I keep my name out of this blog because I don't want my name associated with it in a Google search. Although I never write anything in a public forum like a blog that I'd be ashamed to have associated with my name (and you shouldn't either), it is illegal for me to use my position as a public employee to advance my religious or political views, and the pseudonym helps to preserve the distinction between my public and private identities. The pseudonym also helps to protect the people I may write about in describing public or semi-public events I've been involved with. You can read about my academic work on my academic blog http://www.ssc.wisc.edu/soc/racepoliticsjustice/ --Pam Oliver

13 thoughts on “teaching question #2”

  1. Power Point 2007 does this, I think. I’ve been wishing for something similar for a long time and I just saw it the other day. The student couldn’t get it to work in our classroom, but I’m pretty certain that if everything works as it’s supposed to, this happens.

  2. I think Jessica’s right. I have ppt 2207, and there’s an option of doing a slide show with “presenter view.” I tried to click on it to see what was up, but it said it wouldn’t work since I only have one monitor connected. Is this what you mean?

  3. wait a minute? office 2007 actually has new useful features? i thought the main difference was to reset your learning curve to zero by replacing menus with “the ribbon.”

  4. My understanding is that our monitor needs to have a video card that would allow you to use dual monitors to have separate views in Windows. In other words, there is no way with a normal video card to have something projected out the VGA connection that is anything other than what is on the screen. I believe standard Macs, by contrast, can do this.

  5. In ppt 2007 on my mac it is called “view presenter tools” in the slideshow menu. It shows the current slide, the upcoming slide, notes, and the time– very handy!

    But, you can’t test it without a projector hooked up. It’s worked fine for me, though. There is also something similar in Keynote (which I use more often that ppt).

  6. I like Word and PowerPoint 2007. Once you get over the learning curve they are much more sensible than their predecessors. The problem is more that one can still wonder if sensibility is enough to scale a new learning curve.

  7. I know that Power Point versions older than 2007 have “presenter view” too, and I think you need to do a little bit of set up before it will work. I was at a conference recently, and not only did no one have presenter view set up, but no one else seemed to know that this option existed, including some of the tech people! I cannot use paper notes with Power Point. I’m physically incapable of it.

  8. I’ve never tried this since I don’t tend to use additional notes, but this seems like a helpful explanation of how to get it to work (presumably not just on PP 2007 since the post is from 2005).

  9. I am so glad to know that this has been around for a while – frustrated that I’ve been missing out on it all these years, but vindicated because I was SURE I saw this at the ASA meetings awhile back and a whole group of people told me I was crazy when I suggested such a feature existed.

  10. I used to wrestle with this question, but now I just keep all of my lecture notes in the “notes” section of the slide. Taking printed notes to class allows me to keep the slides brief, and also roam the room so I’m not tied to the computer. I’m going to start using a wireless mouse next year, so I don’t have to go back to the desk at all.

  11. Brief instructions for Office 2007:

    Once you’ve set up dual independent screens in XP, there’s an option in PowerPoint. In 2007, it’s on the “Slide Show” tab, and it says “Show Presentation On:”

Leave a Reply

